Forgiving

image

Over the last six years I have made many concious decisions to forgive my ex-husband.  But, forgiveness is a process….layer by layer…bit by bit… over time.

I’m prompted to do so yet again…one more layer, one more bit.

I was reminded today that forgiving is FOR GIVING….first of all to ourselves. I choose to give myself the gift of forgiveness.  I choose to pray for, wish for, hope for … the best…. for the father of my children.

I hear from others that he continues to function in this world in toxic ways that harm people. I am saddened by that. I hope that he can experience healing so that no longer happens. I would love for my kids to one day feel like they can re-engage with him because he is capable of healthy relationships with them. Right now, that is not the case.

I choose forgiveness.  I choose to create a life of joy and peace. I choose life.

4 thoughts on “Forgiving

  1. I love that: forgiving is FOR GIVING. I am not certain I will ever be able to forgive the unforgivable (perhaps some day; it is a PROCESS as you said), but I do know that I am capable of letting go a little more every day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

