Worth Wanting

image

I’m not sure at what point I became aware of not being wanted in my marriage.  I know it wasn’t that way in the beginning.  But, over time I would realize that I wasn’t being noticed anymore. I  wasn’t being seen. I recall feeling invisible and insignificant. I also remember trying to talk to him about it,  and those conversations did not go well. My memory of those conversations were that I was told I was misreading things and putting too much pressure on him. So, instead I found myself trying harder to get his attention. I would lose weight, change my hair color,  learn something new,  take more interests in his interests. But, none of that worked.

Eventually, I was rejected all together.

As painful as that was, I now see the gift in it.

For some reason, when the subtle ongoing rejections went on for years, I  somehow tolerated that and allowed it to chip away at my self esteem. 

But a clear and direct rejection triggered something different in me. Something inside rose up to counter that rejection. Some part of me knew I did not deserve this.

That is what it took for me to realize this important truth:

I am worth wanting.

For years I questioned that.

Not anymore.

The knowledge that I am worth wanting gave me the strength and courage to take action and move forward.

That was the beginning of learning to love and accept myself just as I am.

For that, I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

