The tree remembers.

image

One of the hardest lessons for me to learn in my healing process was to let go of the past.  Early in the separation,  I had naively believed that it would be helpful for my former husband and I to discuss the marriage breakdown and even the marriage prior to that.

It took me far too long to realize that I was causing myself ongoing pain and re-opening wounds by doing that.

He did not remember many of the events and words that had cut me open and shattered my heart. Moments and words are seared into my memory forever because they were so shocking and devastating to me. But, he did not remember. So, my pain was minimized or questioned.

The axe forgets but the tree remembers.

For awhile I tried to sort out all the reasons for this or whether he really did remember but was hiding from taking responsibility.  After awhile longer, I realized it doesn’t matter.  Giving it so much mental energy was hurting me too.

I made a decision to let go. What is in the past is in the past. I can’t change it. Instead, I took responsibility for my own healing process. When memories come back, I take a deep breath and remind myself to let it go. Forgiveness is a process over time, and I committed to that process years ago.

The tree will always remember,  but that doesn’t mean the tree can’t have new growth. My new little sapling of a life has deep roots and I know it will grow tall and strong.

5 thoughts on “The tree remembers.

  1. What a great saying, Lisa. I’m sure there are many of us with experiences similar to yours – times when we were the tree! How wise of you to know when it was time to let go of the hurt, and the hope, and move on. Your compassion with yourself is a wonderful example of how to care for ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I appreciate your message so deeply. The tree does remember what the axe forgets … but … that doesn’t have to define the tree! With faith in the saplings and all their infinite possibilities. Sharing this on my Live a Great Life Anyway blog … 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

